Long Island is the largest Island in the Continental United States, extending approximately 118 miles east-northeast from the mouth of the Hudson River, adjacent to Manhattan Island. Twenty miles at its widest point, the 1,377 square-mile island is separated from the mainland on the north by the Long Island Sound and bounded by the Atlantic Ocean on the south and east.

Geographically, Long Island includes the four counties Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk, but because Brooklyn and Queens are part of the city of New York, reference to Long Island is commonly known to mean Nassau and Suffolk counties exclusively. The Nassau border is only about 15 miles from midtown Manhattan. Nassau is divided into three townships containing two cities and 64 villages.

While this Guide is designed specifically for your Long Island real estate search, please remember that Douglas Elliman Real Estate can assist you through our branch offices located throughout the Metropolitan New York area.

We can offer help anywhere in the U.S. or internationally through our Relocation Services Division. Good Luck!